Four candidates in fray for lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland

Kohima, Mar 28: The election to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland will be a four cornered contest while the by-poll to the Aonglenden Assembly constituency will witness a straight fight between the ruling NDDP and Congress candidates, an Election official said Thursday.
None of the four candidates have withdrawn their nomination for the Lok Sabha election on Thursday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature while two candidates have withdrawn their candidature for the by-poll to state Assembly seat, the official said.
The candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat are
INC nominee K L Chishi, PDA consensus candidate and NDPP nominee Tokheho Yepthomi, NPPs Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr M M Thromwa Konyak, he said.
Four candidates Alemjongshi Longkumer of Congress, Sharingain Longkumer of ruling NDPP, Toshipokba Longkumer of NPF and O Tinu Longkumer of NPP had filed nominations for the bypoll to the Aonglendem seat.
District Election Officer and Deputy Commissioner of Mokokchung, Rajesh Soundararajan said NPF candidate Toshipokba and NPP candidate Tinu withdrew their candidature Thursday. PTI