50th Years of AAPSU’s Journey

Dear Editor,
The All Arunachal Pradesh Students’ Union is going to celebrate the 50 years of AAPSU Constitution from 15th to 19th October 2017 at IG Park Itanagar and expecting host of participants.
However, it is important to flash back to pay our tribute and look forward with enthusiasm to counter new challenges. The AAPSU has taken up “Gratitude and New Beginnings” as it theme to commemorate the Celebration.
The present structure of apex and premier student organisation of the state All Arunachal Pradesh Students’ Union (AAPSU) has traversed a long march and evolve along with the present state of our beloved Arunachal Pradesh from a mere “Geographical Expression” to a union territory in 1972 and as a full-fledged state on 20th February 1987.
The student Union in the region in late forties initially with the nomenclature ADI Mishing students’ Union with its headquarters at Pasighat with Late Dr. Daying Ering (Former Union Deputy Minister) and Matin Dai (Retd. Chief Secretary) as founder light of education among the tribals by convincing them to send their wards to schools and also by organising periodical meetings, cultural programs to explain the meaning and value of their traditional culture, its preservation and promotion. With the formation of NEFA in 1959, Adi Mishing students’ Union was replaced by All NEFA students’ Union with Late Talom Rukbo as President and Late Bakin Pertin as General Secretary.
However then the union was mostly confined at Pasighat and did not draw much support from other educational institutes in the NEFA and almost remain vague without much organisational set up till 1967.
Nevertheless, it played a pivotal role in laying the future road map of the union by placing demand to the then NEFA administration like change of medium of instruction from Assamese to English with Hindi as second language, shifting of headquarter from Shillong to a place within NEFA, to upgrade administration to Union territory with a Lt. Governor, creation of more administration centres in all vulnerable and strategies places of the region, establishment of higher educational institute within NEFA as till then only a fortunate few could go to Shillong, Guwahati and other places for college education, enhancement of stipend for students and creation of hostel facilities for students studying at Shillong and reservation of seats in various science and technical institutions of the country for the students.
However, with the changing time and establishment of first institute of higher learning in the state, JN College Pasighat in the year 1964, the need for a strong student union and social organisation was urgently felt.
Accordingly, on 14th October 1967 a high power committee was formed with Lt. Lummer Dai as Chief Advisor and Nyodek Yonggam (Ex. MP), as coordinator with the students of NEFA studying in different part of the region and the country converging at JN College Pasighat. Consequently, after hectic parleys and discussion for two days the Constitution of the present AAPSU which gave a federal structure was drafted by Lt. Lummer Dai and adopted with 16 Articles by the house present 0n 15th October 1967.
The Motto of the Union “Learn to serve” was proposed by Nyodek Yonggam and the Union Emblem was drawn by Er. C.T Manpong.
The new development ushered in a new phase of students’ organisation in the region that took an organised shape and elected a new office bearer with Nyodek Yonggam (former MP) Lt. Sobeng Tayeng (former Minister) and Lt. Rinchin Norbu as President, Vice President and General Secretary respectively along with other bearers.
As such, in order to commemorate and rejoice the historic day of adopting the Union’s Constitution on 15th October 1967 that gave the union a federal structure thereby it an inclusive and Pan Arunachal Identity among the various students Community of the state.
The AAPSU to mark the 50th anniversary in appreciation of the eventful day have decided to rejoice the historic occasion by celebrating “Golden Jubilee cum Inter Tribe Youth Festival -2017” from 15th to 19th October 2017 to reaffirm and equip ourselves for the future challenges by bringing together all the 28 major tribes and 100 plus sub tribes under one roof. The week long regale will include games & sports, cultural events, literary competition mostly of indigenous touch and traditional cuisine. The Union in its celebration would continue to strive for the greater welfare of the students community and keep its stand clear to foster on the social and cultural aspect of the indigenous people of the state. The union will continue to work to solve boundary disputes, refugee issues, other issues of the state.
Nepha Wangsa
Dy. Spokesperson (APPSU)