APSLSA organizes annual commendation ceremony

ITANAGAR, Nov 10: The Arunachal Pradesh State Legal Services Authority (APSLSA) organized its second annual commendation ceremony for the best district legal services authority (DLSA), the best paralegal volunteer and the best panel lawyer, here on Saturday.
The Tawang DLSA, headed by its secretary Damge Niri, was awarded as the best DLSA of 2018. Phurpa Lhamu of the same DLSA was declared the best paralegal volunteer of the state. The award for the best panel lawyer went to Gulley Sumnyan of the Tirap DLSA.
The winners will represent the state at the national meet to be held at New Delhi on a later date, in order to be eligible for overall selection from among the other states’ nominees, as was the case in 2016, when the Papum Pare DLSA won the best DLSA award from among the northeastern states.
Cooperation Secretary Onit Panyang, who gave away the prizes to the winners, appreciated the works of the legal services authorities, and urged them to continue shouldering their responsibilities.
APSLSA Member Secretary Budi Habung highlighted the activities of the legal services authorities.
Later, a short interaction programme among the participants was held.
The programme was attended by, among others, Law & Judicial Deputy Secretary Dani Belo, the chairmen and secretaries of various DLSAs, panel lawyers, paralegal volunteers, and legal aid counsels from various districts.
IAS officer Onit Panyang distributed the prizes to the winners in the various categories.