Ranji Trophy 2021-22 season from 5 January to 20 March; Vijay Hazare Trophy to be held in December 2021

New Delhi, Aug 19 (PTI): The BCCI has issued a fresh itinerary for domestic cricket in India with the 2021-22 season of the Ranji Trophy tournament scheduled to be played between 5 January to 20 March.

The Ranji Trophy wasn’t held during last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the logistical obstacles faced for having an extended bio-bubble for 38 teams.

The blue-riband tournament is back in BCCI’s domestic calendar but the senior men’s cricket will commence from 27 October with the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, which will be held after the IPL in order to ensure availability of quality cricketers.
The Vijay Hazare Trophy (National One Dayers) will be played from 1 to 29th December, while senior women will play their first tournament — National One Day — from 20 October to 20 November.

The season starts with women’s and men’s U-19 one dayers (Vinoo Mankad) starting 20 September and it would be followed by U-19 challenger trophy for both women and men starting 25 and 26th October respectively.

The U-25 (State A) One dayers will be held from 9 November to 10 December while the CK Nayudu Trophy (also U-25 from previous year’s U-23) will start from 6 January.


For the senior men’s tournaments (Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy), the 38 teams will be divided into six groups. There will be five Elite Groups with six teams each and one Plate group with eight teams.

For U-25 level, there will be five Elite Groups of six teams each and one Plate group of seven teams.