State’s athletes win medals in powerlifting c’ship

ITANAGAR, 22 Nov: Athletes from Arunachal Pradesh won several medals in the National Powerlifting Championships held in Noida from 16-22 November.

Professional lifter and coach Azad Basfore was adjudged the ‘Strong man of India’ for the third consecutive year in bench press (75 kg bodyweight category). He lifted 162.5 kgs unequipped.

The other medal winners are Padi Tayo (junior, 3 gold, 1 bronze), Taje Mosu (junior, 2 gold, 2 silver), Donik Rimon (teen, 1 gold, 1 silver) Kaling Yao (junior, 1 silver), Deke Kaha (junior, 4 gold), Rige Kaye (junior, 1 gold, 2 silver), Meta Linggi (senior, 1 gold, 1 silver), Anurag Bharali (senior, 1 gold, 1 silver), and Azad Basfore (senior, 1 gold).