Banggo United lift Itanagar Solung Football Trophy

CHIMPU, Aug 25: Banggo United won the Itanagar Solung Festival Football Tournament-2018, defeating Solung United 4-2 in a keenly contested final at the AAPBn ground here on Saturday.
Johnson Ragmukh put Banggo ahead after scoring in the 29th minute. Tony Ragyor scored a pair of goals in the 41st and 44th minutes to pile up misery on their opponents.
Solung United pulled one back through Taja Bonung in the 48th minute. Bonung tricked his way past the defenders before he pushed the ball into the net (3-1).
Akar Hango struck the 4th goal for his team Banggo United in the 62nd minute to extend the lead to 4-1.
Solung United managed to reduce the margin to 2-4 when Kaling Tatin netted in the 74th minute. The Solung United players made some last-ditch effort to find the equalizers but failed to capitalize on the opportunities.
Tony Ragyor was adjudged ‘player of the match’.
Earlier, the final match was kicked off by Parliamentary Affairs Commissioner Bilatee Pertin in the presence of senior members of the Adi community.
Later, Pertin along with other dignitaries gave away the prizes to the winner and the runner-up teams and individual achievers.
The champion team was awarded cash prize of Rs 50,000 along with a trophy, while the runner-up team was given Rs 30,000 along with a trophy.
The prize for the best player was won by Gelat Jiji of Banggo United, while Bani Ngupok of Doying Gollong received the prize for the highest scorer (14 goals).
Riu Jayden Tangu of Solung FC won the prize for best goalkeeper.
The prizes of veteran category were also given away on the occasion.
Present on the occasion were, among others, Dambuk MLA Gum Tayeng, Liromoba MLA Nyamar Karbak and senior Adi officers, informed the tournament’s sports secretary Kadum Apang.