Varsity badminton league underway

RONO HILLS, Nov 19: The 6th University Badminton League-2018, organised by the Officers’ Club of RGU, was inaugurated by IMC Executive Engineer Tadar Tarang here on Sunday.
The officers’ club, which is an affiliated member of the Arunachal State Badminton Association (ASBA), is organising men’s doubles event in both intra-club category and open category.
Thirty-six players are participating in the men’s doubles event, comprising faculty members, administrators, research scholars and postgraduate students.
The finals of the match will be played on 21 November.
The winners, runners-up and second runners-up will receive cash prizes, trophies and citations, besides bagging sponsorships by the club to participate in ASBA-organised tournaments.
Meanwhile, in the intra-club doubles competition, the pairs of Dr David Pertin-Pura Deilyang and Terge Sora-Dr Tadam Ruti have made it to the finals after defeating Dr Gibji Nimasow-Hage Kojee and Pitam Jomoh-Dr Tabang Mibang, respectively, in the semifinals.