18th Conference of H&TE

Students must prove themselves worthy of academic degrees: Governor

ITANAGAR, Feb 6: Students must throughout their lives prove to be worthy of the academic degrees conferred on them, said Governor Dr BD Mishra during the inaugural function of the two-day 18th Conference of Higher & Technical Education (H&TE) of the state at Banquet Hall here on 6 February.
He said that it should be in the nature of the higher education degree holders, wherever they find lack of brightness, to ignite a light.
The governor emphasized on making concerted efforts to “orientate the educational thrust by promoting science, technology, skill development, and need-based curriculum.”
He said there are five pillars of higher and technical education. “These are merit-based education, research-based education, need-based education, positivity-oriented education, and fraternity- and nationalism-oriented education,” he said.
Elaborating it, the governor said that higher education must be useful to the person as well as to the society, and that it must help the individual to work with integrity and succeed with integrity.
“The education in the universities must match the need of the society, market and the state. Be it by teaming new discipline or recasting the syllabus or changing the pattern of method of instruction, it should be oriented in such a way that will take the society and the nation forward towards all-round development,” the governor said.
He added that assuring the dignity of the individual and unity and integrity of the nation, and also developing scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform should be the core ingredients and prerequisites of higher education.
The governor, who gave away the awards to the university’s toppers in the undergraduate level, expressed happiness that all the university toppers were girl students. He released a book titled ‘Paddy-cum-Fish Culture in Ziro Valley’ by Dr Dani Kacha, Assistant Professor, Government College, Yachuli, and also released the ‘Basic information on higher & technical education’ and the NSS newsletter.
Among others, Education Minister Honchun Ngandam, Education Secretary Dr Madhu Rani Teotia, RGU Vice Chancellor Prof Tamo Mibang, and Higher & Technical Education Director Dr Tayek Talom shared their views and ideas to strengthen higher and technical education in the state.
List of awardees
Dr Prasanta Nanda, associate professor, department of zoology, Dera Natung Govt College, Itanagar, and Dr Jnan Ranjan Padhi, associate professor, department of English, Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat, received the outstanding college teachers’ award for the year 2017.
Dekey Chumky, BSc (Zoology), Dera Natung Govt College, Itanagar, Hage Okang, BA (Anthropology), St Claret College, Ziro, and Tassar Ama, B Com, Don Bosco College, Itanagar, received the Governor’s Award as university toppers in undergraduate level in Science, Arts and Commerce streams respectively.
Lobsang Tsekey, civil engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Govt Polytechnic, Itanagar, Ajoy Ghosh, automobile engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Govt Polytechnic, Itanagar, and Raunak Kumar Tripathi, mechanical engineering, Govt Polytechnic, Namsai, received the APSCTE Gold Medal as polytechnic toppers.
The Best NSS unit award for the year 2017 was given to Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat NSS unit. Dr Tamin Payum, Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat, received the best NSS programme officer award. Nyami Taso, GHSS, Itanagar, and Gami Bogo, JNC, Pasighat, received the Best NSS volunteer’s awards. (PRO to Governor)