Arunachal speaker accepts switching over of 7 PPA MLAs to NPP

ITANAGAR, Jul 27: The Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly on Friday accepted switching over of seven MLAs of the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) to the Nationalist People Party (NPP).
Assembly Speaker T Norbu Thongdok accepted the joining of the PPA MLAs to the NPP as required under Rule 4 of the members of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1987, and issued a notification regarding it.
Out of nine PPA members in the 60-member house, seven changed their allegiance to the NPP on 16 July this year.
With the switching over of the MLAs, the NPP will now have party representatives in the Arunachal Pradesh assembly for the first time.
With the development, the ruling BJP now has 48 MLAs in the assembly, the NPP has 7, the PPA has 2, the Congress 1, and there are 2 independent members.
The two independents are associate members of the ruling government, while the NPP is a constituent member of BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance in the North East. (PTI)