AAPSU seeks peace along interstate boundary

BALIJAN, Aug 2: All Arunachal Pradesh Students’ Union (AAPSU) president Hawa Bagang said the union would stand for peace, tranquility and communal harmony along the Assam-Arunachal Pradesh interstate boundary.
“The AAPSU, being a constituent partner of the NESO, will always advocate lasting solution to the interstate boundary dispute,” Bagang said on Wednesday, addressing a gathering of football lovers from both the states during the opening ceremony of the Summer Cup football tournament at the general ground here.
The chief aim behind organizing the tournament is to remember former leaders of the All Popum Poma Students’ Union (APPSU), including former cabinet minister late TC Teli, former deputy minister late Ngurang Tazap, late Tem Tatung, late Techi Taangam, and late Techi Kako.
Bagang called for more sports and cultural ties between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh to foster unity and brotherhood.
All Nyishi Students’ Union (ANSU) vice-president Tana Susil Tara, who also attended the ceremony, lauded the APPSU for organizing the tournament, and for remembering the former student leaders of the district.
All Papum Pare District Students’ Union (APPDSU) president Nabam Tado urged stakeholders to cooperate in the efforts to improve the academic scenario of the state.
Among others, All Papum Poma Students’ Union president Tassar Levi and games & sports secretary Ngurang Tache addressed the gathering.
SBTC Deputy Director Dr Taba Khana, AAPSU deputy speaker Nepha Wangsa, APPDSU leaders Teli Pada, Teli Taning Kelvin and Gollo Kaya, former panchayat leaders Pane Matang, Tana Tad and Tacha Ranka, and several other local leaders were also present on the occasion.
Eighteen teams are taking part in the tournament. Out of these, seven teams are from Assam.
The first match was played between Gohpur FC and Milonpur FC, which Gohpur FC won by 12-1 goals.