Arunachal to get three institutions under RUSA

ITANAGAR, Dec 12: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay online the foundation stones of the three institutes of higher education in Arunachal Pradesh approved under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) on 15 January, informed the Directorate of Higher and Technical Education (DHTE), GoAP.
The new institutes are an Engineering College at Tezu, Lohit and one Model Degree College each at Piyong, Namsai and Kanubari, Longding.
Higher Education joint secretary under Union Ministry of Human Resource Development, Ishita Roy today reviewed the preparedness for laying of the foundation of Model Degree Colleges and other projects under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) with Education secretaries and commissioners of various states.
RUSA is is a centrally sponsored scheme that provides logistic and financial support for the expansion of higher education in the country and is playing an important role in the growth and development of Higher Education sector including Arunachal Pradesh.
Arunachal has been participating in this programme since its launch in 2013-14. Many government colleges of the state have received grants under RUSA programme.
As the funding of RUSA programme is based on outcome and performance, the fund received so far from MHRD have been judiciously utilized and a good number of assets have been created in the colleges.