HDMT tournaments conclude in four dists

ITANAGAR, Dec 30: Mebo pulled off a hard fought victory against Pasighat East constituency in the final of the boys’ football tournament for the Hangpan Dada Memorial Trophy (HDMT) at the IGJ football ground in East Siang HQ Pasighat on Saturday.
They won the match 4-3 via penalty shootout after the match ended in a goalless draw in regulation time.
The award for best men’s football player went to Jerahmeel Jamoh of Pasighat East constituency, informed East Siang DSO Nada Apa.
Pasighat West constituency became the winner in the girls’ football, defeating Mebo constituency 1-0 in the final.
Oyi Taying of Mebo was named the best women’s football player.
Pasighat East constituency avenged their loss to Mebo in the boys’ football, beating them in the girls’ volleyball.
In the boys’ section of the volleyball tournament, the title was won by Pasighat West constituency. The runner-up title went to Mebo constituency.
Kiron Apum of Pasighat East constituency and Kitu Pegu of Mebo were declared the best women’s and men’s volleyball player, respectively.
Pasighat East MLA Kaling Moyong and Deputy Commissioner Tamiyo Tatak witnessed the final match.
West Siang, Tawang and East Kameng also conducted their district level HDMT tournaments.
According to a DIPRO report, Aalo East and Liromoba constituencies became the winners in the men’s and women’s football tournament, respectively.
While Aalo East beat Aalo West 4-3 via a tie-breaker in the men’s football, Liromoba beat Aalo West to lift the women’s football trophy.
Aalo West won the men’s volleyball trophy, defeating Aalo East, while Aalo West beat Liromoba to lift the women’s volleyball trophy.
Gammi Ori, Duggum Ori, Kesang Mane and Toter Nomuk were declared the best players.
Liromoba MLA Nyamar Karbak distributed the trophies, certificates and cash prizes to the winners, runners-up and the four best players in the men’s and women’s categories.
The winners of the tournaments were given Rs 50,000 each, while the runners-up were given Rs 25,000 each. Rs 7000 each was given to the four best players.
The tournaments were conducted at the Aalo GHSS playground.
In Tawang, Lumla assembly constituency won the women’s football trophy, beating Mukto constituency in the final.
In the men’s section of the football, the trophy was lifted by Tawang constituency. Mukto constituency was the runner-up.
In the women’s volleyball, Mukto and Lumla constituencies were the winner and runner-up, respectively.
Tawang SP Sagar Singh Kalsi distributed the prizes and trophies to the winners.
The inaugural function was attended by Tawang District Sports Association Chairman Namghey Tsering.
In East Kameng, Seppa East and Chayangtajo won the men’s football and volleyball tournament, respectively. Bameng were the runner-up on both occasions.
In the girls’ section, Seppa West and Pakke-Kessang won the football and volleyball tournaments, defeating their respective opponents, Seppa East and Bameng constituencies.
The closing function was attended by Seppa East MLA Tapuk Taku, Sports Deputy Director Mala Linggi, DSO (in-charge) Pudam Taku and a host of government officials and public leaders.
The 3rd edition of the district level HDMT tournaments in East Kameng had been kicked off on Friday by Food & Civil Supplies Chairman Ramjo Pordung and DRDA PD Dahey Sangno at the general ground in Seppa.