AAPBSU opposes PRC to non-APSTs

ITANAGAR, Jan 16: The All Arunachal Pradesh Border Students’ Union (AAPBSU) has urged the state Government not to grant permanent resident certificate (PRC) to non-APST people in Lekang.
In a representation to the governor on Wednesday, the union strongly condemned the recent ‘New Year Gift’ statements made by Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein for granting PRC to non-APST people of Lekang region and demanded withdrawal of the same.
The union in said, ‘as per the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873… no Land Possession Certificate/Permanent Residence Certificate can be granted to non-APST who are non-native/non-indigenous. Any administrative order or certificate or any other documents issued in contravention of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873 is liable to cancellation.’
It further said that the non-APSTs settled in different districts of Arunachal Pradesh cannot be treated as permanent residents as they are only ordinary residents of the state as per the BEFR, 1873 and other protective laws.
‘The question of violation of BEFR and other laws for protection of the rights of indigenous scheduled tribes of the state by JHPC or cabinet decision does not arise,’ it added.