CBAK lift Tako Dabii Memorial Football Trophy

[Prafulla Kaman]
NARI, Jan 17: Cibo Baagv Ao Keba (CBAK) lifted the first ever Tako Dabii Memorial Football Trophy after defeating Siang 4-1 in the final match played at Daying Ering Memorial Stadium here in Lower Siang district on Thursday.
The CBAK team was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh and a trophy, while the runner-up team walked away with Rs 50,000 and a trophy. Siang-III won the 3rd position in the tournament.
Vibek Gurung scored two goals, while Rumik Rumi and Bakin Ete scored a goal each for CBAK.
Siang got many opportunities but could not convert them into goals. The only goal for Siang was scored by Tabor Ado through a free penalty kick in the 35th minute of the second half.
Out of the total seven football teams which participated in the tournament, East Siang-I bagged the ‘best discipline team’ award while Ripak Riba of Lower Siang-III was adjudged the highest scorer.
Tony Ragyor and Tajong Nonang of CBAK were declared the best player and the best goalkeeper, respectively.
Attending the concluding ceremony of the tournament, Tax & Excise Minister Jarkar Gamlin described former minister Tako Dabi as “a man of rich personality, who deserved respect from all leaders of the state.”
Referring to the three-point memorandum submitted to Deputy CM Chowna Mein for upgrading the stadium and the CHC here, Gamlin assured to pursue the matter with the ministries concerned.
He urged the organizers to continue conducting the tournament in the coming years and keep the memory of the veteran leader alive.
East Arunachal MP Ninong Ering in his address assured to pursue the state government to fulfill the demands made by the people of Lower Siang for development of the stadium and upgrading the CHC here besides setting up an institution named after Dabii.
Among others, Nari-Koyu MLA Kento Rina and renowned activist Jarjum Ete were present on the occasion.