Campaigning for Phase 3 of Lok Sabha polls ends

NEW DELHI, Apr 21: Campaigning for the third phase of polling in 116 parliamentary constituencies on 23 April ended Sunday with top leaders making a last-gasp effort to sway voters in favour of their respective parties.
Polling will be held in the 115 seats, spread across 14 states and union territories.
All seats in Gujarat (26), Kerala (20), Goa (2), Dadra & Nagar Haveli (1) and Daman & Diu (1) go to polls in the third of the seven-phase election.
Besides, polling will be held in four seats in Assam, five in Bihar, seven in Chhattisgarh, one in Jammu & Kashmir, 14 in Karnataka, 14 in Maharashtra, six in Odisha, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, and five in West Bengal.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and a host of union ministers among others canvassed for their party candidates in the past few days, undertaking whirlwind tours of constituencies.
Among the key contestants in the fray are BJP chief Amit Shah (Gandhinagar, Gujarat), Congress president Rahul Gandhi (Wayanad, Kerala), and Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav (Mainpuri, UP).
The political heavyweights, whose fate will be decided in the third phase of elections include Mulayam Singh Yadav, union minister Santosh Kumar Gangwar, who is fighting from Bareilly, and the BJP’s Varun Gandhi from Pilibhit.
The Lok Sabha polls are being conducted in seven phases between 11 April and 19 May. The election results will be declared on 23 May. (PTI)