2nd THoR open badminton championship organized

RONO HILLS, Apr 29: The second THoR Open Badminton Championship – 2019, organized jointly by the boarders of the Tirap Hall of Residence (THoR) and the officers’ club of Rajiv Gandhi University (OCRGU), concluded at the university’s campus here on 28 April.
The championship was held for men’s doubles and mixed doubles.
Reigning champion Tanil Tabang and Charu Toko clinched the men’s doubles title in a thrilling three-setter final, edging past the pair of Dr David Pertin and Karli Poyom by 2-1 sets (21-19, 20-21, 21-17).
The pair of Kenli Riram and Guniya Dele won the mixed doubles title, defeating Modak Kadu and Ashaya Umbrey in the final.
Libi Kayi won the award for the best player of the tournament.
The award for the ‘upcoming player’ was bagged by Samuel C Ronrang, and the ‘stylish player’ award was won by Dr Gibji Nimasow.
RGU’s Junior Technical Officer Pitam Jomoh and Assistant Physics Professor Dr H Shanjit Singh attended the valedictory function and gave away the trophies, medals and cash prizes to all the players, match officials and volunteers.
The final matches were witnessed by a huge gathering of spectators, including faculty members, officers, research scholars, students and staffers, besides badminton enthusiasts from the nearby area.
A total of 46 shuttlers, including faculty members, officers, research scholars and postgraduate students of RGU, participated in the championship.
RGU Joint Registrar Dr David Pertin, THoR warden Dr Wanglit Mogngchan, OCRGU chairman Dr Gibji Nimasow, THoR Prefect Joram Tubi, Assistant Prefect Imar Bagra, and organising secretary Kenli Riram also spoke.
The championship had been inaugurated by former AAPSU vice president Happy Toko on 25 April.