NES to adopt seven govt schools

YAZALI, Jul 31: The Nyishi Elite Society (NES) has decided to adopt one school each in seven districts in phase-I of the adoption process.
The schools are Government Secondary School (GSS) Sebibo in East Kameng district, GSS Pakke-Kessang in Pakke-Kessang district, GHSS Sagalee in Papum Pare, GHSS Yazali in Lower Subansiri, GHSS Palin in Kra Daadi, GHSS Nyapin in Kurung Kumey and GHSS Raga in Kamle.
The decision was taken in view of the poor results in the CBSE examination and high rate of student drop-outs.
The NES will monitor and coordinate with the school authorities to improve the academic performance of the school and also take care of immediate issues, like sanitation, water and power supply, subject teachers, furniture etc.
Further, the NES will encourage formation of alumni association of these adopted schools to support the NES for proper implementation and overall development of these schools.
NES president Bengia Tolum and Education Minister Taba Tedir will jointly launch the NES school adoption programme on Friday at GHSS Yazali in Lower Subansiri district.