Maiden Innovation Award-2020 presented

Staff Reporter
ITANAGAR, Jan 27: Ha Tade (NERIST), Avang Wangsu (NIT, Yupia), Rinchin Norbu Granchidar (West Kameng), Lahar Jyoti (Assam) and Liagi Bath (Lower Subansiri) were presented with the maiden Innovation Award-2020 on the final day of the Innovation Festival-2020 at the Arunachal Pradesh Science Centre here on Sunday.
The winners were among the innovators and entrepreneurs who showcased their prototypes, project models and products during the Innovation Festival, organised by the Arunachal Pradesh State Council of Science & Technology, in linkage with the National Innovation Foundation (NIF).
A mentorship programme for students selected under the Inspire Awards – MANAK was also held simultaneously for the students selected from Arunachal, under the guidance of Dr Nitin Maurya from the NIF.
Dr Maurya informed that the five students who have been selected will represent the state at the national-level contest in Delhi, to be held at a later date.
Karge Basar from GHSS Dari (Leparada district) and Aman Yadav from NIOS were awarded prizes under the ‘school category’.
A quiz competition, a robotics demonstration and other activities were also held in the ‘innovation hub’ area.
Speaking to this daily, Science Centre Curator Vivek Kumar said the festival’s module and programmes had been finalized in such a way so as to “rekindle the interest and admiration of science among the minds of the participant students and the visitors.”
Many of the visitors opined that such festivals and programmes should be organised at regular intervals.
“Innovation Festival-2020 was a learning experience for me as I got to see many new innovations and practical applications of science in our day-to-day life,” said Nisha Loyi, a student from Blue Pine Residential School, adding that such programmes should be organised at the school level, as well.
Echoing a similar opinion, C Sector (Itanagar) GMS Headmaster Take Lusi Sorum said “there should be proper awareness and information whenever such programmes are held, so that more students are benefitted.”