CBSE rank holders felicitated

ZIRO, Oct 27: The Dani Kunia Foundation (DKF) and the management of Dani Kunia Government Higher Secondary School (GHSS) here in Lower Subansiri district felicitated the rank holders of Classes 10 and 12 (science, arts and commerce) on Monday.

On the same occasion, a washroom constructed for female faculty members of the school, funded by the DKF, was also handed over to the school.

Speaking on the occasion, DKF chairman Dani Salu exhorted the students to study well, take part in co-curricular activities, games and sports and lead a healthy life in order to cultivate a well-rounded personality.

“The youth should keep away from drug abuse and get engaged in positive activities through mental and physical activities,” he said, adding that there is no alternative to hard work.

Salu also commended the teachers and staff of the school “for guiding the students towards academic excellence.” He asked them to keep up the good work and gave assurance that the DKF would try to chip in to meet the required facilities for the school’s students and teachers.

“When the school authorities informed that there was a single washroom for both male and female teaching faculty and initiative from the government was not forthcoming immediately, the DK Foundation came forward to construct the washroom exclusively meant for female staffers,” Salu said. He also informed that the DKF would help in maintaining the ‘heritage-cum-flower garden’ on the front side of the school.

The DKF has instituted the Dani Kunia academic excellence scholarship for the students of Dani Kunia GHSS, in memory of late agency councillor Dani Kunia, after whom the school has been named.

The students who were awarded scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year are Mobia Lento, Toku Thomas, Surabhi Saikia (Class 10), Kungam Likar, Anantha Krishnan, Tamo Odi (Class 12, science), Takhe Mai, Gayatri Paul, Kago Yubbey (Class 12, arts), Mihin Tamu, Dani Kanio and Kiron Sharma (Class 12, commerce).

A student should have obtained a minimum of 60 percent and above marks in the board examination in order to receive the scholarship. The scholarship consists of Rs 5000, Rs 3000 and Rs 2000 for the first, second and third rank holders of all the classes.

DDSE Tabia Chobin, EAC Bamin Tarang and GHSS Vice Principal Tage Gambo also spoke.

The programme was attended also by Tanw Supun Dukun general secretary PG Tago, DKF secretary Taru Abin, and family members of late Dani Kunia.