Parties gearing up poll activities in East Siang

PASIGHAT, Mar 13: Days after the Election Commission announced the schedule for the Lok Sabha and state Assembly elections to be held simultaneously on 11 April, various political parties including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, National People’s Party (NPP) are gearing up electioneering in three assembly constituencies under East Siang district.
The ruling BJP, which was representing all three Assembly segments of the district, is facing tough time in selection of candidates.
Two aspirants including incumbent MLA Kaling Moyong and former East Siang BJP president Tamat Gamoh are seeking BJP ticket in 38-Pasighat East (ST) seat.
Opposition Congress has no such difficulties as the party nominated former Pasighat MLA and former Education Minister Bosiram Siram as candidate to contest the election from the seat.
In 37-Pasighat West (ST) seat, four contenders including incumbent MLA Tatung Jamoh, former minister Dr Tangor Tapak, Woman leader Osing Taboh Taloh (Amma) and Advocate Oshong Saroh are claiming the BJP ticket.
Among the contenders, Dr Tangor Tapak was state’s BJP president and was elected
from the seat two times, while Osing Taboh Taloh is a Mohila BJP leader and supported by RSS.
Tatung Jamoh was elected first time from the seat as Congress MLA and later joined the BJP.
Congress has recommended names of two leaders including East-Arunachal MP Ninong Ering and Ruksin Block Congress leaders Tayor Radeng as MLA contender in Pasighat West seat.
It is reported that Congress high command is yet to finalize the party candidates.
On the other hand, NPP’s East Siang district president Tapang Taloh has been selected as party candidate for 37-Pasighat West assembly seat.
In 39- Mebo constituency, incumbent MLA cum CM’s adviser Lombo Tayeng and former MLA Ralom Borang and Danngen Perme are seeking BJP ticket to contest the poll.
The opposition Congress is nominating Karo Tayeng as its party candidate, while RTI activist Shoney Pertin has been selected as NPP candidate in the constituency.
Report from Siang district said that three leaders, namely Nalong Mize, Tayam Siram and former student leader Ojing Tasing are seeking BJP ticket in 35- Pangin (ST) constituency to contest the election.
The aspiring candidates of various political parties are conducting frequent meetings to gain support from grass-root level party workers in their favour.