BJP releases list of 54 candidates; drops two sitting ministers

Staff Reporter
ITANAGAR, Mar 17: The central election committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released the list of 54 candidates for the Arunachal legislative assembly. The saffron party has dropped two sitting ministers in Kumar Waii and Jarkar Gamlin and nine sitting MLAs including senior leaders like Lombo Tayeng, Wanglin Lowangdong and Thanwang Wangham.
Goruk Pordung has been given party ticket in place of Home Minister Kumar Waii whereas Kento Jini has replaced tourism minister Jarkar Gamlin.
Further the BJP has given party ticket to several new faces like Taba Tedir (Yachuli), Ealing Talang (Seppa East), Jummum Ete Deori (Lekang), Dr Dangi Perme (Mebo), Jowang Hosai (Borduria Bogapani, Tanpho Wangna (Longding Pumao), etc.
The party is yet to announce the tickets for remaining six assembly constituencies, including the prestigious Itanagar assembly constituency.