213 candidates file nominations; Mukto set for straight fight

Staff Reporter
ITANAGAR, Mar 25: A total of 213 candidates from different political parties and independents have filed their nomination papers for the 60 assembly seats, said state Additional CEO Kangki Darang.

The party-wise candidate break-up is: BJP – 64 (4 substitutes), Congress – 55 (2 substitutes), NPP – 31 (2 substitutes), JDS – 15 (1 substitute), JDU – 20 (4 substitutes), PPA – 6, and independents.

As many as seven candidates representing different political parties have filed their nominations for the Arunachal West parliamentary seat. They are union minister Kiren Rijiju (BJP), Jarjum Ete (JD-S), Nabam Tuki (INC), Khoda Apik (NPP), Subu Kechi (PPA), Jomin Nyokir (All India Forward Bloc), and Rumak Jomoh (independent).
The BJP, the INC, the JDS and the PPA have fielded their candidates for the Arunachal East Lok Sabha seat, besides an independent.
The high-profile Mukto assembly constituency in Tawang district is all set for a straight fight between BJP candidate and Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Indian National Congress’ (INC) Thupten Kunphen in the upcoming election.
Those who have filed nominations for the Arunachal East constituency are Tapir Gao (BJP), James L Wanglat (INC), Bandey Mili (JD-S), Mongol Yomso (PPA), and CC Singpho (independent).
Political heavyweights, including sitting MP Ninong Ering (INC), Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee president Takam Sanjoy, MLA Techi Kaso (JD-U), and debutant Jarpum Gamlin (NPP) filed their nomination papers on the last day, Monday.
While Ering has filed his nomination for the Pasighat West constituency, Sanjoy filed his for the Lekang constituency. Gamlin will contest for the Liromoba constituency.
Six candidates have filed their nomination papers for the Itanagar seat. Prominent among them are sitting MLA Kaso (JD-U), former MLA Kipa Babu (BJP) and Yumlang Achung (INC).
In East Siang district, 16 candidates, including an independent, have filed nominations for four assembly seats.
Besides Ering, three other candidates – MLA Tatung Jamoh (BJP), Tapang Taloh (JD-S) and his substitute candidate Yani Taloh – have filed nominations for the Pasighat West constituency.
Sitting BJP MLA Kaling Moyong, former minister Bosiram Siram (INC), Enong Ering (NPP) and Kenrik Ete Moyong (independent) have filed papers for the Pasighat East constituency.
Former minister Lombo Tayeng filed his nomination on a Congress ticket for the Mebo constituency. Tayeng was elected unopposed as the Congress candidate last time, and later joined the BJP.
Danggi Perme (BJP), Christopher Perme (substitute) and RTI activist Shoney Pertin (PPA) have also filed their papers for the Mebo constituency.
Sitting MLA Kento Rina (BJP), Tojir Kadu (INC) and Karto Kaye (NPP), and one substitute candidate, Jonaki Kaye, have filed nominations for the Nari-Koyu assembly seat.
Toko Yaram, who resigned from the Congress on Sunday, filed her nomination on a JD (U) ticket, and former engineer Taba Tedir filed his paper on a BJP ticket for the Yachuli seat.
Sitting MLA Likha Saaya has opted out of contesting in the assembly election.
Meanwhile, Nani Ribia filed his nomination for the Ziro-Hapoli seat on a Congress ticket.
In Lower Dibang Valley, sitting MLA Mutchu Mithi (NPP), Etra Linggi (INC) and Laeta Umbrey (BJP) have filed their nomination papers for the Roing constituency, and Gum Tayeng (BJP), Tony Pertin (NPP) and Vijay Pertin (INC) for the Dambuk constituency.
In Namsai, 14 candidates, including two women candidates, have filed nominations for the Chowkham, Namsai and Lekang constituencies.
Besides APCC president Sanjoy, other candidates who have filed nominations for the Lekang constituency are Nikh Khopi (NPP), Jummum Ete Deori (BJP), Takam Paleng JD (S), Bida Taku (independent), Padmeshwari Jamoh (JD-U) and her substitute Takar Jamoh, and Nabam Tekhi (independent).
Deputy CM Chowna Mein (BJP) and Khunang Kri (INC) have filed their nomination papers for the Chowkham constituency.
Those who have filed nominations for the Namsai constituency are Zingnu Namchoom (BJP), Maulin Agan (NPP), Dr Chow Kedar Gohain (INC), and Chow Shotike Hopak (JD-S).
In Tawang, Jambey Tashi (BJP) and Jampa Thrinly Kunkhap (NPP) for Lumla, Tsering Tashi (BJP), Thupten Tempa (INC), Thutan Nima (INC substitute) and Tsering Dorjee (JD-S) from Tawang, and Chief Minister Pema Khandu (BJP) and Thupten Kunphen (INC) from Mukto constituencies have filed their nominations.
In West Kameng, altogether 14 candidates have filed their nominations for the four assembly constituencies in the district.