Six GPMs elected unopposed in East Siang


PASIGHAT, 29 Jun: Panchayat by-poll in East Siang district will now be held for the Bodak seat only after six gram panchayat members (GPM) were declared elected unopposed.

Those who were declared elected included four of BJP, one INC and one independent candidate.

The BJP’s four candidates elected unopposed are Aroti Lego from Diking-I, Miti Mibang  from Taki Lalung-II, Kayem Osik  from Napit-I and Aroti Lomi  from Depi-Moli seats.

INC candidate Karsing Daming won from Ngopok seat, while independent Raltik Ratan alias Lentik Ratan won from Mebo-Gingkong seat.

The Bodak seat under Mebo assembly constituency will witness three-corner contest. The contesting candidates are Nunu Megu (BJP), Kakiram Tayeng (INC) and Ojong Megu (NPP).

Polling will be held on 12 July and counting of votes will take place on July 15.