8th National Voters’ Day celebrated across state

ITANAGAR, Jan 25: The 8th National Voters’ Day with the theme, ‘Accessible elections’ was celebrated in a befitting manner across Arunachal Pradesh on Thursday.
Addressing the gathering at the Yupia mini ground on the occasion, Chief Secretary Satya Gopal urged the citizens of the state to uphold the democratic tradition of the country by exercising their franchise in a free and fair manner.
“We are the proud citizens of the largest democracy of the world, and we should uphold the democratic traditions of our country and should keep up the voters’ pledge to exercise our franchise in free and fair manner,” he said.
He also called upon the citizens to rise above caste, creed and religion for the progress of the state and the country.
Exhorting the citizens to contribute for a healthier and stronger democracy, the CS said, “If you want to achieve anything big in your life, then it is very important to raise your strong voice, and in the same manner we can create and contribute to have healthier and stronger democracy.”
Saying that voters of the state are “very conscious” with better voting percentage, he, however, added that all-out efforts should be made for 100% utilisation of voting rights.
The chief secretary also called upon heads of departments to pledge to work for peace, progress and prosperity of the state. He asked them to work in the public interest and maintain honesty and transparency. The CS also administered voters’ pledge to the citizens present on the occasion.
In his address, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Kaling Tayeng appealed to the voters to exercise their voting rights in a free and fair manner without any inducement and influence during elections. He expressed his happiness for successful completion of electoral summary roll in the state recently.
Papum Pare Deputy Commissioner Tai Kaye informed chief secretary that the district is implementing all the central and state flagship programmes smoothly and will continue to work towards peace and prosperity of the district and the state.
The winners of state level National Election Quiz and Essay Writing Competition 2017-18, along with outstanding booth level officers and young voters with new EPICs were felicitated on the occasion.
In Lohit HQ Tezu, Deputy Commissioner Karma Leki announced the launch of electoral literacy clubs (ELCs) at different colleges, schools, government offices and NGOs in the district.
ELCs for new voters have been set up at the Indira Gandhi Government College, and Denning College for Teachers’ Education in Tezu. Similarly, ELCs for future voters have been set up at seven government schools and ten schools have been notified as chunauv pathshallas.
Moreover, voter awareness forums have been set up in eight government offices in Tezu and in the offices of the CALSOM and the All Mishmi Women Welfare Association, the DC said.
The DC also distributed prizes to the winners of the National Election Quiz 2017.
In Namsai, National Voters Day (NVD) was celebrated with great enthusiasm. The deputy commissioner urged youths to participate in the national electoral process to strengthen democracy.
Reiterating the commitment towards reaching out to the last voter, the DC advised students of 18 to 19 years of age to enroll their names in the voters’ list.
Namsai ERO B Talukdar requested the gathering to encourage eligible youths to participate in the democratic process.
In Lower Subansiri district, National Voters Day was celebrated at all the polling stations, AERO/ERO HQs, and district headquarters Ziro.
In Ziro, DEO in-charge Nending Chatung encouraged young voters to join the electoral processes of the country. Chatung also gave emphasis on error-free electoral rolls.
The day was celebrated with felicitation of the millennium voters and the young voters who had registered their names in the latest electoral roll, pledge-taking ceremony, distribution of prizes to the district round ECI quiz competition winners, and launching of the first electoral literacy club of the district at the government higher secondary school. ERO (HQ) Lod Takkar informed that more such ELCs will be opened in schools and colleges.
In West Kameng HQ Bomdila, Deputy Commissioner Dr Sonal Swaroop inaugurated the electoral literacy club at Buddha Peace Park to mark the celebration.
The ELC would not only spearhead awareness about the electoral process in the district but would also nurture voters of tomorrow as responsible citizens and leaders of New India, the DC said.
Earlier, CO SW Mosobi expressed hope that the NVD’s theme would prove to be the right platform for facilitating the right means for all the eligible voters of the country to exercise their right to vote.
On-the-spot quiz competition, pledge-taking ceremony, felicitation of differently-abled voters, and distribution of new PVC EPIC were other highlights of the day.
In Anini, the newly-enrolled voters and the best BLOs of Dibang Valley district were felicitated by Deputy Commissioner Tamune Miso.
Pledge-taking ceremony, prize distribution to the participants and winners of district round of the ECI National Quiz competition 2017-18, and launching of electoral literacy club by Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya were other highlights of the programme.
Earlier, the DC lauded the staff of the district electoral office and BLOs for their hard work.
In Aalo, West Siang DC Swetika Sachan said that the Election Commission of India is giving thrust on eligible voters to imbibe sense of empowerment and pride among the youths in democratic process of the country.
She also administered the National Voters’ Day pledge to participants, while CO (Election) Lijum Ete made a PowerPoint presentation on importance and significance of voting, handling of EVMs, and the process of enrolment.
Voters’ identity cards were also distributed among newly-enrolled voters of the district.
In Pasighat, EPIC cards were given to newly-enrolled young voters by East Siang DC Tamiyo Tatak.
Tatak also honoured the outstanding booth level officers and gave away certificates of commendations to booth level officers including Onyo Rome (AT, primary school, Berung), Tayek Taggu (JT, GSS, Rani), and Alusi Ratan (JT, [primary school, Sigar) for their outstanding contribution in field duty for the Summary Roll Revision-2018.
Takong Gao (JT, primary school, Lilleng, Siang district) was also felicitated.
The DC also administered the voters’ pledge to students, PRI members, BLOs, HoDs, officers and staff of the DC’s office.
Kankan Dutta, staff of the district election office, was also honoured for her duty as supervisor for meritorious service rendered in the Summary Revision -2018.
In East Kameng, National Voters’ Day was celebrated in a befitting manner in various parts of the district.
Attending the celebration at St Xavier School, Seppa, Deputy Commissioner Gaurav Singh Rajawat emphasized on cent percent enrollment of voters in electoral roll. He appealed to each and everyone to act responsibly and inculcate a sense of participation in governance.
Stating that the electoral process and adult franchise are the foundation stones of any democracy, DC urged persons of 18 years age and above to enroll their names in the electoral rolls, participate in the democratic process and exercise their voting rights in a free and fair manner.
The DC also urged students to be attentive and play the role of an ambassador in carrying forward the messages of the Election Commission to common masses.
In Changlang, the National Voters’ Day was celebrated at the BSB auditorium with distribution of PVCs to the newly-registered voters, and administration of voters’ pledge.
The day was also celebrated in the Tawang deputy commissioner’s conference hall with the participation of officers and newly-enrolled voters. (DIPROs)