Several districts to experience power cut

ITANAGAR, Jul 20: At least 10 districts will experience complete power cut on 25 and 26 July as the power department will shut down the 132 kv Ziro-Daporijo transmission lines to carry out major repairing work.
The districts which will be affected by the shutdown are Kamle, Upper Subansiri, West Siang, Siang, Upper Siang, East Siang, Lower Siang, Lower Dibang Valley, Lohit and Namsai, informed the department.
The shutdown will be from 8 am of 25 July till 4 pm of 26 July.
Power supply will also remain disrupted during the daytime in those districts from 8 am of 27 July till 4 pm next day, the department said.
“The 146th OCC of the NERPC has approved the shutdown at the request of the department of power for carrying out major repairing of Tower No 57, Ziro, which was damaged by a cyclonic storm on 6 March,” the department said in a release.
Moreover, the Power Grid will also carry out maintenance work on its system during that period, because of which the 132 kv transmission line from the RHEP to Ziro will be shut down between 8 am to 4 pm from 25 to 28 July, cutting off electricity supply to Lower Subansiri, Kurung Kumey and Kra Daadi districts during the daytime, the release added.