Four in fray for Capital BJP ticket

NAHARLAGUN, Jul 28: State Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Tapir Gao said the BJP ticket for the Itanagar assembly constituency will be given to one of the aspiring candidates – sitting MLA Techi Kaso, state BJP vice-president Tame Phassang, former MLA Kipa Babu, and senior BJP leader Techi Neecha – after their candidatures are “recommended at various levels.”
Addressing a booth level committee (BLC) sammelan at a city hotel here on Saturday, Gao said a survey is being carried out by the party at the regional level for the same, and “one cannot say which particular leader will get the party ticket.”
He urged the party workers to intensify party activities for the forthcoming municipality, panchayat and assembly elections in the state, “so that the party occupies the maximum seats and Chief Minister Pema Khandu’s governance continues.”
He exhorted the BLC leaders and workers to carry forward the principles and ideology of the party and spread awareness on the public-oriented schemes of the central and state governments.
Local MLA Techi Kaso motivated the BLC members to work for the party, and highlighted several important completed schemes in the capital complex, such as the civil secretariat, the legislative assembly, DK Convention Hall, MLA apartments, ISBT, etc, and urged them to be united in developing the state.
Capital unit BJP president Tarh Soping and BJP secretary Tarh Tarak informed about the activities being undertaken in the ongoing ‘BLC chalo abhiyan’, and appealed to party leaders to work sincerely for strengthening the party.
Former MLA Kipa Babu, state BJP vice-president Tame Phasang, Itanagar vistarak Ngurang Choya, Arunachal west vistarak (in-charge) Dug Saha, and eastern in-charge Boken Kino also addressed the gathering.