GMSC win 7th Eagle Football C’ship title

NAHARLAGUN, Oct 6: Gora Makik SC (GMSC) won the 7th Eagle Football Championship – 2018 title, defeating Deed Circle FC 4-0 in the final at RG Gandhi Stadium here on Saturday.
Both the teams started on a cautious note, and it appeared as if the match would end goalless in the first half. But it was GMSC who took the lead through Limar Loya in the 39th minute. Soon after, Gyamar Tapa doubled his team’s lead with a goal in the 41st minute.
After the break, GMSC’s Avinash Kharel scored a brace in the 67th and the 73rd minutes to take the game away from Deed Circle.
Avinash was declared player of the tournament.
The awards for the best goalkeeper and the highest scorer went to Doging Yubey of GMSC and Vivek Gurung of CCFC, respectively.
The final match was witnessed by, among others, government spokesman PD Sona and Anini MLA Rajesh Tacho.