Nat’l awards for excellence in journalism announced

NEW DELHI, Nov 6: The Press Council of India has announced the winners of this year’s National Awards for Excellence in Journalism.
The winners will be honoured on the National Press Day on 16 November at the National Media Centre here.
Eminent journalist and Hindu Publishing Group Chairman N Ram has been selected under the prestigious award category of Raja Ram Mohan Roy Award; Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)-based Deshbandhu’s Chief Correspondent Ruby Sarkar and Rajesh Parshuram Joshte from Ratnagiri (Maharashtra)-based daily Pudhari have been jointly designated the award in the category of rural journalism.
Kerala Kaumudi Deputy Editor VS Rajesh has been selected for developmental reporting; Subash Paul of Rashtriya Sahara has been selected for photo journalism – single news picture; and Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)-based Nava Telangana’s Cartoon Editor P Narasimha has been chosen for the award category of the best newspaper art, covering cartoons, caricatures and illustrations.
The selection of the awardees was carried out by a jury of eminent working journalists, senior editors, owners and managers.
Indian Journalists Union President Amar Devulapalli was the convenor of the selection jury.