Yomgo Yorkers win AP T20 Cricket Premier League title

JULLANG, Dec 24: The Yomgo Yorkers lifted the first Arunachal Pradesh T20 Cricket Premier League after defeating the Kurung Kumey Hawks by eight runs in the final at the general ground here on Monday.
The Yomgo Yorkers, who won the toss and decided to bat first, set the Kurung Kumey Hawks a challenging 168 run target to win.
Ashish Sahani gave a flying start to the Yorkers and scored his third consecutive half-century of the tournament.
Chasing the target, the Kurung Kumey Hawks, who looked good in the beginning, could not hold the pressure as wickets continued to keep falling at regular intervals.
They scored 159 runs and fell short by eight runs.
Nada Kago of the Yomgo Yorkers was awarded the ‘man of the match’ title for his three-wicket haul in three overs, conceding 13 runs.
The ‘man of the series’ award was won by Ahish Sahani for his overall brilliant performance and for scoring three 50s and taking eight wickets in the tournament.
He went home with a brand new scooter.
The champion team received a cheque of Rs 3 lakh along with the trophy while the runner-up team got a cheque of Rs 1.50 lakh along with the trophy.
The fair play team prize was awarded to the Tirap Challengers.
Yachuli MLA Likha Saaya and former MLA Kipa Babu gave away the prizes to the winners, the runner-up and individual achievers.