Do not compromise on education: Governor

Annual conference of Higher and Technical Education

ITANAGAR, Mar 7: The Governor of Arunachal Pradesh Dr BD Mishra inaugurated the two-day annual conference of Higher and Technical Education, department here on Thursday.
Speaking on the occasion, the Governor said that if there is a compromise in education, it is a compromise of the next generational leadership. He further said teacher and student are two important entities in the promotion of education. The teachers must be trained and provided all amenities and they must carry out research and develop innovative teaching concepts. Unless the importance of the teacher is enhanced, the society cannot advance. At the same time, the students must rise above ‘Certificate – government job’ syndrome and become job providers for society to take the nation forward, the Governor added.
The Governor exhorted the officials responsible for higher education in the State, to think, explore, try and implement all the programmes and projects with all seriousness, to strengthen the education scenario in the State.
Visibly pleased that most of the awardees and toppers were girl students, the Governor said that this gives a good indication that Arunachalee society is progressing and developing.
State Education Minister Honchon Ngandam, Commissioner Education Gamli Padu, in-charge Vice Chancellor of Rajiv Gandhi University, Prof. Amitava Mitra, Director NIT Prof. Pinakeswar Mahanta, Director NERIST Professor HS Yadav, Director Higher and Technical Education Dr Tayek Talom also spoke on the occasion.
The Governor released a book titled ‘Party Politics in Arunachal Pradesh’ by Sangja Khandu, Principal, Govt. College, Bomdila. He also released the SLQAC newsletter, NSS Newsletter and ‘Basic Information on Higher & Technical Education’ Arunachal Pradesh booklet.
The Governor also felicitated Tomar Ete, former Principal with the ‘Pioneer of Higher Education Award’ and Dr Jajati K Pattanaik, Associate Professor of Political Science from Jomin Tayeng Govt. Model Degree College, Roing with the ‘Outstanding College Teachers’ Award’ in the inaugural session of the two-day conference.
The Governor gave away the ‘Governor’s Cash award’, which included a cash award of Rs. 10,000.00 (Rupees Ten Thousand) to Gami Bogo, B.Sc Botany from Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat, Millo Mamung, BA from Saint Claret College, Ziro and Ansula Ngadong, B Com from Don Bosco College, Itanagar, who are the toppers in undergraduate courses, under Rajiv Gandhi University, Rono Hills, Doimukh.
Vishal Kumar Singh, Civil Engineering students of Rajiv Gandhi Polytechnic, Itanagar received the ‘Arunachal Pradesh State Council for Technical Education Gold Medal’.
Saint Claret College, Ziro received the ‘Best Performing Private College Award’. It also received the ‘Best NSS Unit Award’.
Withoam Socia, Assistant Professor and Trained NSS Officer from Saint Claret College, Ziro received the ‘Best Project Officer Award’. Binde Maying from Rajiv Gandhi University and Azad Tapak from Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat received the ‘Best NSS Volunteer’s Award. (PRO, Raj Bhavan)