Exodus of BJP, INC members continues

Staff Reporter
ITANAGAR, Mar 23: Members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC) continue to exit from the parties with ‘denial of party ticket’ being one of the primary reasons.
While former minister CC Singpho resigned from the BJP, former home minister Daklo Nidak Tamin also made a public declaration of his resignation from the INC.
In his letter to the BJP president, Singpho, who was also the BJP East convenor, said the people of his constituency had reposed faith in his leadership for five consecutive terms.
“After having been denied the party ticket, I see no way to continue working or meeting with the people’s aspiration and their mandate. It also seems that the party is more aligned with personal agenda than the interest of the public of our state,” he said.
“I have decided to resign from the primary and active membership of the BJP, and from the post of convenor, BJP-Parliament East, AP, with immediate effect,” Singpho said.
Jawra Maio has been awarded the BJP ticket for the Bordumsa-Diyun seat.
Tamin, who had been a long-time member of the INC and a member of the APCC’s campaign committee, tendered his resignation after being denied the party ticket for the Daporijo assembly constituency.
“I joined the party when the leaders were deserting the party. I believed that the INC would honour committed leaders as there were no experienced and probable assembly candidates from Daporijo then. But the decision of the APCC has proved me wrong. Therefore, I am tendering my resignation from the primary membership with a heavy heart,” Tamin said.
The INC is yet to officially announce its candidate for Daporijo.