Peace committee formed to ensure fair re-poll in Gimba

ITANAGAR, May 18: A nine-member peace committee has been constituted to ensure free and fair conduct of the re-poll at the Gimba polling station in Tali assembly constituency of Kra Daadi district.
The peace committee, headed by Tapi Sorang Zara, in a sitting here recently adopted several resolutions in order to “diffuse the prevailing tension and to bring back normalcy in the area,” so that the re-poll passes off peacefully.
BJP candidate Thaji Gichak Kiogi and JD (U) candidate Jekke Tako were also present during the meeting, and agreed to the resolutions by signing on a non-judicial stamp paper executed before the capital complex executive magistrate on 17 May.
It was resolved that only the voters of Gimba polling station would be allowed to come to the polling station during the re-poll, and that “no other voters or outsiders” would be allowed.
While the JD (U) candidate promised to recall or vacate the volunteers deployed at Gimba, Guchi and other areas with immediate effect, the BJP candidate promised to withdraw and not deploy or engage any BJP volunteer or worker on the Tamin-Mengi Kabak road and near the Gimba polling station and its peripheral areas.
“If any such activities by BJP workers are found on that stretch, the BJP candidate shall be held responsible,” the committee resolved.
It also decided that the JD (U) candidate would not cause any obstruction to the genuine BJP voters of the Gimba polling station in exercising their adult franchise.
“If any such obstruction is found, then he shall take full responsibility. The same thing will also apply to the BJP party, that they shall not obstruct any JD (U) voters of Gimba polling station,” it said.
The meeting resolved that if any law and order problem is created by anyone of the two parties or by both parties, leading to loss of life and property, the contesting candidate of the party which started the trouble would be held responsible and a criminal case filed against the candidate concerned.
It also resolved that the committee would write to the DEO, the CEO and the ECI for cancellation of the candidature of the contesting candidate whose supporters are found indulging in trying to damage the EVM or snatching it away.
It further resolved that both the contesting candidates would not be allowed to visit the Gimba polling station on the day of the re-poll.