Committee to verify Chakma-Hajong settlement blocks in Miao  

[Pisi Zauing]

MIAO, 15 Jul: In pursuance of the Changlang DC’s notification (No C/LR-23/KV-ITBP/20-21, dated 29 June, 2021), Miao ADC Sunny K Singh on Thursday nominated prominent leaders and community representatives as members of the recently constituted ‘Miao sub-divisional level settlement areas monitoring committee’ to verify and ascertain the actual ground status of the Chakma-Hajong settlement blocks in Miao subdivision.

The committee will map out the settlement areas and compare the same with government-recognized settlements as per the list provided by the DLRSO.

The committee will deliberate over the current disputed and unorganized settlements and propose a resolution mechanism for protection of the forest areas and safeguarding of communal harmony.

Existence of unauthorized resettlements, if any, will be immediately brought to the notice of the deputy commissioner.

The committee will also ensure that flood-affected families are resettled in an organized manner.

For the protection of critical water catchment areas, the committee will propose protected areas under the Jhum Land Regulation Act, 1947.

The task of mapping is to be completed by 31 August.

The committee consists of the ADC, the DLRSO, the Jairampur DFO, the Diyun RFO, Miao ZPM Sirai Ong Singpho, Ngilang Tangha, Pisi Zauing, Jowkhong Singpho, PK Kimsing, K Chithan, Nigramoni Chakma and Binod Boran Chakma.