DEO issues notification for bypolls to 7 GPM seats in E/Siang


PASIGHAT, 20 Jun: The East Siang district election officer (DEO) has issued a notification for bypolls to seven GPM seats, and has enforced the election code of conduct in the district.

Bypolls to 130 gram panchayat seats, along with one zilla parishad seat, in the state will be held on 12 July.

Out of the seven GPM seats, two seats each in Bogong and Mebo and one each in Bosing, Monggu-Banggo and Depi-Moli in Ruksin block are lying vacant due to reasons ranging from resignation to death of the winning candidates.

The last date for filing nominations is 21 June, while the last date of withdrawal of papers has been fixed on 27 June.