Gao calls for collective efforts to streamline development

ROING, 24 Jun: Arunachal East MP Tapir Gao called for collective efforts “to streamline the development efforts in the districts.”

Addressing government officers and MLAs during a District Development Coordination & Monitoring Committee meeting for the eastern region of Arunachal here in Lower Dibang Valley district on Friday to review the implementation of centrally sponsored schemes (CSS) in the districts, Gao appealed to the officers to “work with responsibility to ensure the delivery of benefits of the government’s schemes to the masses.”

The MP emphasised on proper implementation of welfare schemes like the PM Matru Vandana Yojana, the Janani Suraksha Yojana and the Dulari Kanya Yojana for the benefit of women and children.

“No one should be deprived of the schemes due to lack of information and knowledge about the schemes,” Gao said.

“We have to work as ‘Team Arunachal’ to ensure wide coverage of CSS in the state and work towards timely data updation in the ministry’s web portal to reflect the true progress of work done in each district to ensure the continuation of fund allocation under the schemes,” he said.

The MLAs stressed the need to improve the services provided by the banks, especially the State Bank of India, and the need to open additional bank branches in many parts of the state. They said that “many schemes are credit-linked schemes and banks are delaying or rejecting the applications of many, which is hampering the implementation of the schemes.”

The DCs present at the meeting highlighted the performance of their respective districts in terms of implementation of various government schemes.

RD Director Kego Jilen made a presentation on the implementation of central schemes in the state, and MoRD representative Dhirendra Kumar spoke on the findings of the monitoring team of the MoRD during its visit to the districts.

The meeting was attended by, among others, MLAs Laisam Simai, Jummum Ete Deori, Dasanglu Pul, Gabriel D Wangsu, Somlung Mossang, Tangpho Wangnaw and Mutchu Mithi, and representatives from the MoRD and the SBI, besides the DCs and PDs/DPOs of Lohit, Anjaw, Lower Dibang Valley, Dibang Valley, East Siang, Upper Siang, Siang, Longding, Changlang, Tirap and Namsai districts. (DIPRO)