North Eastern Warriors set for Premier Badminton League

ITANAGAR, Nov 27: The newly formed North Eastern Warriors will represent the Northeastern region in the Premier Badminton League, which will be held in four cities across the country from December 23 to January 14.
Itanagar-based T K Engineering Consortium Pvt Ltd, the owner of North Eastern Warriors, has roped in at least 10 top international players, which include Tzu Wei Wang, Ajay Jayaram (Captain), Chirag Shetty, Shin Baek Cheol, Kim Gi Jung, Prajakta Sawant, Ruthvika Shivani, Michelle Li and Sanyogita Ghorpade through PBL auction held at Hyderabad in October this year.
Moreover, local talents of the North East, namely Ashmita Chaliha, Laa Talar and Maisnam Meiraba will also be accompanying the team for exposure.
Speaking to the media on Monday, CEO of North Eastern Warriors Bamang Tago, said, “We are all set for the challenge. Our players are morally well placed. And especially under the mentorship of renowned coach Nikhil Kanetkar, the North Eastern Warriors will bring laurels to Northeast India. Badminton in NE will from now onwards bring new vistas for promising talents of the region.”
With the entry of North Eastern Warriors, the Premier Badminton League will now have eight teams, the others being Delhi Acers, Mumbai Rockets, Awadhe Warriors (Lucknow), Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Smashers, Bengaluru Blasters and Ahmedabad Smash-masters. To be held in a rolling format, the third edition of the Premier Badminton League will have Guwahati as one of the four centres.