Sinee and Johny win ‘Player of the Year’ awards

‘Legendary Sportsperson of the State’ award conferred posthumously on Indrajit Namchoom

Staff Reporter
ITANAGAR, Sep 26: Karetakas Sinee Mikhu and Johny Mangkhiya have won the state ‘Player of the Year’ awards in male and female category respectively.
Renowned footballer Indrajit Namchoom, who had represented the national football team, was conferred the ‘Legendary Sportsperson of the State’ award posthumously.
Former Arunachal Pradesh Football Association secretary Gechi Doke received the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’. The award was presented in recognition of his contribution towards promotion and development of games and sports in Arunachal Pradesh.
Arunachal State Badminton Association and Arunachal Pradesh Football Association received the ‘Sports Association of the Year’ and ‘Best Sports Organizer of the Year’ awards respectively.
Karate coach S Deben Sharma was conferred the ‘Coach of the Year’ award, while Raju Baspur, ground man, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Naharlagun was chosen for the award for ‘Best supporting staff’.
The Annual State Sports Awards were given away in a glittering function organized by the Sports Authority of Arunachal at its conference hall, Chimpu, near here on Wednesday.
The award ceremony was attended by Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Dr Mohesh Chai, Secretary Sports Dani Salu, Sports Authority of Arunachal Chairman Bamag Tago, Director Sports Tadar Appa, Director Youth Affairs DK Dinglow, Arunachal Olympic Association Secretary General Abraham K Tachi, officials of SAA, sports, youth departments and 21 state level sports associations.