Arunachal celebrates National Voters’ Day

ITANAGAR, Jan 25: Along with the rest of the country, the 10th National Voters’ Day (NVD) was celebrated on the theme: ‘Electoral Literacy for Stronger Democracy’ throughout Arunachal Pradesh on 25 January.
In a state level National Voters’ Day celebration at Borum Badminton Club in Papum Pare district, State Election Commissioner, Hage Kojeen, highlighting the importance of National Voters Day, appealed to the young voters to exercise their voting rights in a free and fair manner.
He also urged them to choose leaders with good vision and ideologies to maintain the true meaning of democracy.
Arunachal Pradesh Lokayukta member, Yeshi Tsering requested all to uphold the pledge taken during the National Voters Day. Congratulating the booth level officers (BLOs) who have been felicitated for their outstanding service, Tsering advised them to continue their good works and to ensure that “every eligible voters, be it senior citizen or physically handicapped, should find their names in voters list.”
Earlier, state’s Chief Electoral Officer Juhi Mukerjee said, “the NVD marks the significance of the efforts made by each and every voter to educate themselves and to contribute to the nation.”
During the programme, 14 outstanding BLOs from Balijan, Leporiang, Parang, Kakoi, Doimukh, Kimin, Banderdewa, Naharlagun, Toru, Itanagar, Gumto, Sagalee, Silsango and Mengio were felicitated with certificates and mementoes and prizes were distributed to winners of essay writing and painting competitions.
Among others, Papum Pare Deputy Commissioner, Pige Ligu, SP Jimmy Chiram, ADC (Hq) Tabang Bodung, officers from Nirvachan Bhawan and school children attended the programme.
At Ziro in Lower Subansiri district, St Claret College Principal Dr (Fr) Allwyn Mendoz felicitated best BLOs namely, Likha Ado and Toko Nabin from Yachuli and Habung Tadi and Millo Magia from Ziro-Hapoli on the occasion.
At Daporijo, in Upper Subansiri district, DC-cum-DEO Kanto Danggen narrated the reasons behind the very existence of the Election Commission of India and its importance for the nation. He encouraged all the participants, especially students, to get enrolled on attaining 18 years of age and to practice their adult franchise with conscious.
EAC (Election) Tage Tatung and SVEEP Nodal Officer SB Singh also spoke. Five best BLOs among 250 BLOs were felicitated and prizes were given to winners of easy writing and drawing competition from various schools and colleges.
In Tawang, Deputy Commissioner cum District Election Officer (DEO) Sang Phuntsok administered the National Voters’ Day pledge on the occasion. The DC said that all the citizens having the right of vote should actively take part in the electoral process and exercise their voting rights to the right person. Phuntsok also felicitated the new voters with scarves (khada) and voter ID cards, and also gave away the cash awards and certificates to the winners of quiz competition.
CO (Election) Sangey Norbu highlighted about the importance of National Voters’ Day. The NVD was also celebrated in various administrative outposts of Tawang district.
At Aalo, in West Siang district, the day was celebrated at DC’s conference hall. ERO Henkir Lollen administered the NVD pledge on the occasion. EAC (Election), Julity Mihu and AERO Kartu Bam highlighted the importance of the day.
Prizes were also distributed to the winners of essay writing and other literary competition.
At Bomdila, in West Kameng district, the NVD was celebrated at Buddha Peace Park.
MLA Dorjee Wangdi Kharma reiterated the need for free, fair and peaceful elections. He urged the people, especially the ‘to be voters’ to rationally and ethically vote after attaining the right age and be the torch bearers for a stronger democracy.
The NVD pledge was also administered and prizes to the winners of debate and drawing competitions were distributed by the MLA.
ADC cum Deputy DEO Gombu Tsering, ERO Sang Khandu, AERO Tenzing Yangchin, Assistant Professors Tenzing Dolma and Dr Aruna spoke on the occasion.
The NVD was celebrated in various places in East Kameng district in a befitting manner.
Attending the NVD celebration at Donyi Polo Nyedar Namlo, Seppa, ADC-cum-Deputy DEO Pravimal Abhishek Polumatla highlighted about the importance of election, its process and role in upholding the democratic tradition of the nation. Polumatla also appealed each and everyone to act responsibly and inculcate a sense of participation in governance. Highlighting the vital role of youth in nation building, the ADC urged the student community to be attentive and play the role of an ambassador in carrying forward the messages of the election commission to common masses.
Voters’ pledge was administered, mock poll was demonstrated and best BLOs were felicitated with certificates and prizes during the event.
At Roing, in Lower Dibang Valley, persons with disability who are registered voters and BLOs from across the district were honoured during the National Voters’ Day celebration at the Auditorium of Government Higher Secondary School, Roing.
Deputy Commissioner Mitali Namchoom commended the courage of the persons with disability, who took part in the electoral process despite facing challenges in their daily lives. She also appreciated the BLOs who played the vital role of collecting detailed information from people at their doorsteps.
Administration of NVD pledge, distribution of prizes to the winners of wall paintings competition, felicitation of PWD voters and BLOs were the highlights of the day.
In East Siang district, the day was celebrated in all polling stations, administrative headquarters and educational institutions in a befitting manner.
At DC’s office conference hall, officers and staff observed a two-minute silence in memory of late HS Pandey, PRT, DE Middle School, who served as one of the best BLOs and breathed his last on the night of 24 January.
All best BLOs of Pasighat, Mebo, Ruksin and Nari constituencies were felicitated with commendation certificates by the East Siang DEO Dr Kinny Singh in presence of ADC Tatdo Borang, EAC (Election) Sibo Pasing and other government officers on the occasion.
DEO Singh, in her address, expressed hope that that this day will inspire everyone to work towards increased voter awareness.
At Khonsa in Tirap district, Tirap ADC in-charge Hakresha Kri administered pledge on the occasion. Certificate to the winners of essay writing competition was also distributed by Hakresha Kri.
The day was also celebrated along with the Sarkar Aapke Dwar programme in Yangte circle headquarters.
Kra Daadi district Deputy Commissioner, S Miji administered the NVD pledge to the public on the occasion. He asked all eligible young voters to enrol themselves in the electoral list to enable them to exercise their adult franchise. (DIPROs)