Koloriang, Tali to have fresh polls on 21 May

ITANAGAR, May 18: Following hectic cross-examination and verification of reports from poll officers and complaints from the candidates in Kurung Kumey and Kra Daadi districts, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has once again notified fresh polling at the Nampe (Koloriang assembly constituency) and Gimba (Tali assembly constituency) polling stations on 21 May.
The ECI has set the voting time from 6 am to 2 pm.
The ECI’s fresh poll notification comes a week after an ECI team interacted with the candidates of three assembly constituencies – Palin, Tali and Koloriang – on 14 May at the Nirvachan Bhavan here. These would be the second fresh polls in the two constituencies.
“Each polling party shall be headed by at least an ARO, who shall also function as the presiding officer of the polling station for these re-polls,” stated the ECI in its notification.
The ECI said adequate security arrangements shall be made for the polling process, and also for the polling teams conducting the fresh polls.
Candidates representing at least five polling stations – Taba, Rakso, Nampe, Gimba and Reibalo – in the two districts had demanded fresh polls. However, the ECI has considered the case for only Nampe and Gimba polling stations.