CM’s sub-veteran & veteran badminton tournament conducted

JAIRAMPUR, Nov 29: Laa Ribe of Capital Complex won the singles’ title in the men’s 50-year category in the 6th Chief Minister’s Sub-Veteran and Veteran State Badminton Tournament, which ended here in Changlang district on Thursday.
Ribe defeated Taanuu Tamin of Capital Complex 21-18 21-12 in the final.
Ribe, pairing with Tannu Tamim, also won the men’s 50 years doubles title, beating the duo of Bamang Tago and Dobin Lendo 21-13, 21-16.
The men’s singles title in the 45 years age category was won by Monya Riba of Leparada. He defeated Karmo Riram of West Siang 21-18, 21-9 in the final.
Jarsa Gamlin and Karmo Riram of West Siang beat Dobin Lendo and Monya Riba of Leparada 17-21, 21-7, 22-20 in the final to win the doubles title in the men’s 45 years category.
The men’s doubles title in the 40 years category was won by Saji Baby and Tomar Ango. They defeated Ravi Roy and Tania Raju 23-25, 21-10, 21-14 in the final.
The duo of Baby and Ango also won the men’s 35 years doubles title. They beat the pair of Apomo Linggi and Open Melo of Lower Dibang Valley 19-21, 21-15, 21-19 in the final.
Dilip Gurung of Capital Complex won the men’s singles title in the 40 years category, beating Pranko Miso of Dibang Valley 21-7 21-10 in the final.
Open Melo of Lower Dibang Valley won the singles title in the men’s 35 years category. He beat Gungte Yangfo of East Kameng 21-17 21-11 in the final.
The women’s singles title in this category (35 years) was won by Taw Yania of Capital Complex, who defeated Boni Yupu 21-6, 23-21 in the final.
The mixed doubles event was conducted for the 35 years category only and the title was won by Tomar Ango and Taw Yania, defeating the pair of Dilip Gurung and Lina Kakki of Capital Complex 21-13, 17-21, 21-15.
Nampong MLA Laisam Simai, Jairampur ADC SS Choudhary, Assam Rifles Commandant Manish Sharma and former ZP chairperson Izmir Tikhak gave away the prizes.
Later, Tago distributed badminton rackets and shuttlecocks among school students.